About the forum
Outcomes of the first Forum

The 1st International Tiger Forum took place at the highest level in St. Petersburg on 21–24 November 2010 based on a proposal from the Russian Federation and in furtherance of the Global Tiger Initiative, which was created under the auspices of the World Bank in 2008.

Two documents were adopted as a result of the Forum:
- the Declaration on Tiger Conservation;
- the Global Tiger Recovery Programme.
The main goal of the Global Tiger Recovery Programme is to reverse the rapid decline in the wild population that threatened its extinction, with the target of doubling the population across the tiger’s entire range by 2022. The aim was to achieve this goal not in any specific country, but across the entire range of the species, including through efforts to reintroduce tigers to suitable habitats where they had previously become extinct.

In recent years, countries falling within the tiger’s range have made significant contributions to the implementation of the Global Tiger Recovery Programme. All 13 countries in the tiger’s range that have signed the Declaration have developed national programmes and strategies to preserve tiger populations. By the time that the 1st International Tiger Recovery Programme was convened, the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment of the Russian Federation had approved order No. 25-r on the ‘Strategy for Conservation of the Amur Tiger in the Russian Federation’, dated 2 July 2010. The latest Strategy for Conservation of the Amur Tiger in the Russian Federation is expected to be adopted before the 2nd International Tiger Forum.

Efforts to protect the tiger population and its habitats have been strengthened in countries where tigers are present. The network of specially protected natural areas in the tiger’s habitat has been expanded. In Russia, 25% of the tiger range is now covered by specially protected natural area status.

The work of law enforcement agencies has been ramped up in a number of countries, preventing a significant number of illegal transactions of tiger derivatives.

The fight against poaching has also intensified. Several countries have introduced monitoring and reporting programmes that provide information on illegal activity and the results of patrols in specially protected natural areas.

Systematic efforts are being made to resolve conflicts between humans and tigers, and to provide environmental education for the public. International Tiger Day is now celebrated globally on an annual basis. Bilateral and multilateral cooperation on the conversation and study of tigers is also improving.

The measures taken have led to an increase in the global tiger population. There were 3,200 tigers in the wild when the Global Tiger Recovery Programme was launched and, according to the results of monitoring efforts conducted throughout the tiger’s habitat in 2014–2015, that number had reached 3,890. Tiger population levels and trends nevertheless vary from country to country.

The intermediate results of implementing the Global Tiger Recovery Programme have been presented on a regular basis in a number of countries where tigers live at ministerial conferences (Bhutan, 2012; India, 2016; Malaysia, 2022), meetings between senior officials (India, 2012; Bangladesh, 2014); and expert sessions (Vietnam, 2011; China, 2013; India, 2016; Malaysia, 2016).

2nd International Tiger Forum

The Forum will provide an opportunity to present the outcomes of implementation of the Global Tiger Recovery Programme adopted in 2010 and outline further goals and concrete actions to ensure the conservation of a sustainable global tiger population.

The Forum’s objectives include consolidating tools to facilitate the regular exchange of information and effective international coordination of actions, outlining new guidelines, and launching new measures to promote cooperation.

The Forum will take place on 5 September 2022 on the opening day of the Eastern Economic Forum and is set to be attended by global leaders representing the tiger range countries.

The Forum will bring together heads of state, representatives of relevant government ministries and agencies, academics, and international experts on the protection of endangered species.

Decree of the President of the Russian Federation on holding the International Tiger Forum (HYPERLINK).

Federal executive authorities

Ministry of Natural Resources and Ecology of the Russian Federation

Ministry of Justice of the Russian Federation

Ministry for the Development of the Russian Far East and Arctic

Итоги первого Форума

В развитие Глобальной тигриной инициативы, созданной под эгидой Всемирного банка в 2008 г., по предложению Российской Федерации 21–24 ноября 2010 г. в г. Санкт-Петербурге на уровне глав правительств состоялся I Международный форум по проблемам, связанным с сохранением тигра на Земле.

Итогом Форума стало принятие двух документов:
– Декларации глав правительств о сохранении тигра;
– Глобальной программы по восстановлению тигра.
Главная цель Глобальной программы по восстановлению тигра заключалась в том, чтобы обратить вспять быстрые темпы сокращения численности популяции тигра в дикой природе, грозящие ему вымиранием, и стремиться к удвоению ее численности в границах всего ареала к 2022 году. При этом добиться установленной цели предполагалось не в каждой конкретной стране, а в пределах всего ареала вида, в том числе за счет возвращения тигра в пригодные для него места обитания, где он ранее был истреблен.

За истекшие годы страны ареала тигра внесли существенный вклад в реализацию Глобальной программы по восстановлению тигра. Все 13 стран ареала тигра, подписавшие Декларацию, разработали национальные программы/стратегии по сохранению тигра. Ко времени организации I Международного форума по проблемам, связанным с сохранением тигра на Земле, Минприроды России распоряжением от 02.07.2010 г. № 25-р утвердило Стратегию сохранения амурского тигра в Российской Федерации. Планируется, что новая Стратегия сохранения амурского тигра в Российской Федерации будет принята до II Международного форума по сохранению тигра.

В странах ареала тигра усилена охрана вида и мест его обитания. Расширена сеть ООПТ в местах обитания тигра. В России под охраной режима особо охраняемых природных территорий в настоящее время находится 25% ареала тигра.

Активизировалась работа правоохранительных органов разных стран, которые пресекают значительное количество незаконных торговых сделок с дериватами тигров.

Усилена борьба с браконьерством. В ряде стран внедрены программы мониторинга и отчетности о случаях незаконной деятельности и результатах патрулирования на ООПТ.

Проводится системная работа по урегулированию конфликтных случаев между человеком и тигром, а также по экологическому просвещению населения. Все страны отмечают ежегодный Международный день тигра. Развивается двустороннее и многостороннее сотрудничество, в том числе в области сохранения и изучения тигра.

Принятые меры позволили увеличить общее число тигров в дикой природе. Если на момент начала реализации Глобальной программы по восстановлению тигра в 2010 году насчитывалось 3200 диких тигров, то по результатам мониторинга, проведенного по всему ареалу тигра в 2014–2015 гг., численность вида достигла 3890 особей. Однако ситуация с численностью тигра и тенденцией ее изменения в разных странах различна.

Промежуточные результаты реализации Глобальной программы по восстановлению тигра регулярно представлялись странами ареала на министерских конференциях (Бутан, 2012 г.; Индия, 2016 г., Малайзия, 2022 г.), совещаниях старших должностных лиц (Индия, 2012 г.; Бангладеш, 2014 г.), рабочих совещаниях экспертов (Вьетнам, 2011 г.; Китай, 2013 г.; Индия, 2016 г.; Малайзия, 2016 г.).

II Международный форум по сохранению тигра

На Форуме планируется подвести итоги выполнения Глобальной программы по восстановлению тигра, принятой в 2010 г., и обозначить дальнейшие цели и конкретные действия для обеспечения сохранения устойчивой популяции тигра в мире.

Среди задач Форума – закрепить механизмы регулярного обмена информацией, эффективной международной координации действий, а также наметить новые ориентиры и положить начало новым мероприятиям по сотрудничеству.

Форум состоится 5 сентября 2022 г, в «стартовый» день Восточного экономического форума, и ожидается участие глав стран ареала тигра.

Форум объединит руководителей стран, представителей профильных министерств и ведомств, ученых, международных экспертов в области защиты исчезающих видов животных.

Указ Президента Российской Федерации о проведении Международного форума по сохранению тигра.

Федеральные органы исполнительной власти

Министерство природных ресурсов и экологии Российской Федерации

Министерство юстиции Российской Федерации

Министерство Российской Федерации по развитию Дальнего Востока и Арктики